Government Partners

We regularly work with these businesses and organizations to create policies and programs that are beneficial to the future of solar power.

CPS Energy

CPS Energy of San Antonio is the nation’s largest municipally owned energy company providing both natural gas and electric service. CPS Energy recently started construction of Texas’ largest solar farm on a 139-acre site in southeast San Antonio. The Blue Wing Solar Project, a 14-megawatt (MW) solar PV installation, is being built near the intersection of IH 37 and U.S. 181 on a site that will be clearly visible from both highways. The project will consist of 214,500 ground-mounted First Solar thin film panels. Blue Wing will generate an estimated 26,570 megawatt-hours (MWh) of electricity each year, enough energy to power about 1,800 San Antonio area homes a year. Now, with more wind energy on line along with other renewable sources (solar and landfill gas), CPS Energy is currently above 11 percent of peak demand, and it’s one of only a handful of utility systems nationwide that has surpassed the double-digit mark for renewable energy.

City of San Antonio

The City of San Antonio has enhanced their sustainability programs by increasing the City’s initiatives in energy efficiency, green building and air quality. On September 2007, City Council approved the creation of an Office of Environmental Policy (OEP). OEP is committed to developing innovative, practical and wide-ranging environmental programs, city policies and regulations sustaining community-wide quality of life and economic growth.

Bexar County

Bexar County is completely committed to sustainability! As the 19th largest County in the US, there’s a whole lot we can do to lead the way. We want to share our success with you by providing access to our data, projects, & performance validation. We want to share our past & recognize our present, so that together Bexar County & you can build a completely sustainable future.Our goal is to maintain sustainability by bringing balance through economic, environmental, & social awareness measures. We are accomplishing this through energy conservation, environmental stewardship & public awareness.

U.S. Department of Energy

The mission of the Energy Department is to ensure America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) recently announced the Rooftop Solar Challenge to drive significant reductions in the administrative costs for photovoltaic (PV) systems. This national competition will engage diverse teams of local and state governments along with utilities, installers, NGOs, and others to make solar energy more accessible and affordable for residents and businesses.

Solar America Cities

Through the U.S. Department of Energy’s Solar America Cities partnership, 25 major U.S. cities, including San Antonio are working to accelerate the adoption of solar energy technologies for a cleaner, more secure energy future. The City of San Antonio is working to create a significant role for solar energy in the city’s portfolio. The Solar America Cities grant will augment the city’s existing initiative to develop a more aggressive near- and mid-term strategic approach to solar power. The city will collaborate with market transformation partners such as Solar San Antonio in the development and adoption of a sustainable solar infrastructure for the City of San Antonio by 2015.

Alamo Area Council of Governments

Defined as a political subdivision of the State of Texas, the Alamo Area Council of Governments (AACOG) was established in 1967 under Chapter 391 of the Local Government Code as a voluntary association of local governments and organizations that serves its members through planning, information, and coordination activities. AACOG serves the Alamo Area/State Planning Region 18, which covers 12 counties and 11,354 square miles. Comprising the area planning region are Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Medina, and Wilson counties.